LDST Governance and Structure

We are proud to be a member of the LDST.

Liverpool Diocesan Schools Trust

St James House

20 St James Street


L1 7BY

Telephone: 0151 705 2190



There are five members of the Liverpool Diocesan Schools Trust.

Member Position
The Right Reverend Richard Blackburn Bishop of Warrington, Chair of the Board of Members and Chair of the Board of Education
Mr Mike Eastwood Diocesan Secretary
Mr Matt Elliott Diocesan Director of Finance
Fr Crispin Pailing Rector of Liverpool
Dr David Denison Board of Education Representative 


The Liverpool Diocesan Schools Trust has a single Board of Directors responsible for the whole Trust. The board will include nine non-executive directors, and the Chief Executive Officer, and will be accountable to the Department for Education for all schools within the Trust. Seven directors have been appointed to date.

Director Position
Fr Richard Peers Chief Executive Officer and Ex-Officio Trustee
Canon Dr Jon Richardson Chair of Director Board
Canon Margaret Swinson Vice Chair of Director Board
Mr Jonathan Nichols Director
Mrs Rachael Coulthard Director
Fr Harry Wood Director
The Venerable Roger Preece Director
Mrs Penny Johnson Director

Local Governing Bodies (LGBs)

All of the Schools in the LDST are accountable to their individual Local Governing Committees, which in turn is accountable to the Board of Directors of the Trust.

The Local Governing Body has delegated powers in order to oversee the running of its individual school. The LGB may choose to delegate some of these powers to smaller committees or to the Headteacher as it deems fit to fulfil its responsibilities. 

The Governors will be formally appointed by the Board of Directors following recommendations from LGB, will include PCC (in church schools), staff and parent representatives. The LGB in each school will be responsible for the day-to-day operational matters.

For more specific information on Governance in individual Schools, please click on the links below to be taken to their websites;

Cronton CE Primary School - Governor Information 

Halewood CE Primary School - Governor Information

St Michael's CE High School - Governor Information

St Thomas CE Primary School - Governor Information

The Beacon CE Primary School -  Governor Information

Contact the School

Beacon CE Primary

Heyworth Street
L5 3QG

Main Contact: Anna McGurk

Tel: 0151 263 4206
Fax: 0151 263 1583

"Learning Together, Following Jesus"